Asus ZenBook Screen Pad is Not Working After Windows Update | FIX

Randula Koralage
2 min readDec 4, 2021

--

I purchased my ZenBook 14 UX435EG very recently. After I allowed some windows updates, I notice that my screen pad is not responding to hand gestures but was able to access it with the mouse.

The main symptom was, icons are not responding to touch, but responding to mouse click on-screen pad.

This is a Known Issue

Fortunately, you don’t have to worry about this as it is a reported known issue that has a fix already. This can be observed after re-installing or updating windows.

This problem is called, ScreenPad 2.0 problem, you can follow the official FAQ page here to get more details on fix.

This Worked!

If you haven’t installed My Azus app and ScreenXpert apps, please install them first. In my case, I had already installed them. According to above article, they have asked to install 6 things and I had already installed some of them.

  • Intel(R) Serial IO I2C driver ✅
  • ScreenXpert (Windows Store App) ✅
  • ASUS ScreenXpert Interface (Driver)
  • MyASUS (Windows Store App) ✅
  • ASUS System Control Interface V3(Driver) ✅
  • ScreenPad2 Optimizer

The only thing I had missed was ASUS ScreenXpert Interface update and ScreenPad2 Optimizer.

I opened the MyAzus app -> Customer Support -> Live Update and latest and downloaded ASUS ScreenXpert Interface (Driver) and installed.

ASUS ScreenXpert Interface (Driver) install

This require me to restart but after giving a reboot still, my problem was there.

Then I downloaded and installed the remaining tool, ScreenPad2 Optimizer.

Before the installation, it reminds you that the screen pad and screen will start flicking during the optimization. This really happened and you don’t have to worry about it.

Once the optimization is done, it starts to restart the system again.

🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳 After the reboot, my screen pad started to work smoothly and nicely as expected.

done!

Hope this will save you time. Enjoy your ZenBook! 👩‍💻

--

--